Thursday, February 21, 2013

FLOTSAM AND JETSAM - October 28, 1997

Arizona thrash band Flotsam And Jetsam is making a long overdue return to the US touring circuit, and they're in the middle of a big tour supporting Testament right now. This tour hits First Avenue in Minneapolis this Saturday, February 23 with additional support from 4arm (Overkill dropped off the tour earlier this week for medical reasons). Hopefully Flotsam will now be playing a longer set. I'm bummed I can't make this show, so I thought I'd dig out an uncirculated Flotsam And Jetsam show from 1997.

It pains me to think how time seems to have forgotten Flotsam And Jetsam, for they put out a whole string of great albums in the late 80s and early 90s. If you're not familiar with No Place For Disgrace, Cuatro, Drift, and High, you should be. I first saw the band on their When The Storm Comes Down headlining tour with Prong and local band Butt Lynt at the Col Ballroom in Davenport, Iowa. I do have an audio recording of this show, too, but that will have to wait for another time. Another memorable show was seeing Flotsam And Jetsam open for Mercyful Fate in 1993 on the Cuatro tour with Cathedral and Anacrusis in Chicago at the Oak Theater. What a lineup and show!

This show took place in North Kansas City at Roadhouse Ruby's while supporting the High album. The show was cut short, unfortunately, by multiple power failures that occurred during the concert. A few songs got interrupted by the power outages, and you can't blame the band for just giving up after I Live You Die got stopped over an hour into the show. The band took the problems in stride and tried to make the best of it but they were clearly frustrated.

The audio recording was transferred from the VHS-C original tape. I had the video posted on YouTube before my account got deactivated, but the audio has never been released. Someone connected with the band contacted me about the video - apparently this was the only video known to exist from the High tour at the time. I've remastered the sound from the original digital transfer files, so what you have here sounds much better than the original videos. There's still some audible tape hiss if you crank up the volume, but it's very listenable.

The download link is available here, and the artwork is included in the zip file. Enjoy and share the link to this post!!

Flotsam And Jetsam - Power Denied
October 28, 1997
North Kansas City, MO, Roadhouse Ruby's
mp3@192 kbps, 79.06 MB zip file (artwork included)

1. Smoked Out (6:03)
2. Hammerhead (6:19)
3. Never To Reveal (5:56)
4. Hard On You (5:10)
5. It's On Me (3:55)
6. High (4:08)
7. Escape From Within (7:01)
8. Me (3:57)
9. Secret Square (3:03)
10. Monster (4:38)
11. Everything (6:28)
12. I Live You Die (4:32)
Total time: 1:01:10

No comments:

Post a Comment